Français Español Русский 中文 عربي

Introductory Remarks

Five categories were selected for the creation of this Website on World Legal Systems: Civil law, Common law, Customary law, Muslim law and Mixed law systems, the latter referring not to a single system but to a combination of systems. This categorization - and the admittedly imperfect classification of political entities resulting there from - calls for a few preliminary remarks.

The term "political entities" encompasses member States of the United Nations, as well as the few independent territories which are not part of it. It can also refer to political subdivisions of countries as well. Indeed, it seemed important to identify the legal systems of a number of non-independent territories (some of which even enjoy varying degrees of autonomy), either because their geographic location obscures their connection to the legal systems of distant countries (e.g. the French territories in the Pacific Ocean, Indian Ocean or West Indies) or because they belong to a federal or other political structure, yet their legal system has acquired or maintained distinct characteristics within such structure (e.g. Quebec, which is a mixed law jurisdiction whose general law, at least in important areas pertaining particularly but not exclusively to private law, is essentially a product of codified Civil law while, in the rest of Canada, general law is essentially based on the Common law). It should be noted that the taking into account of these non-independent territories separately has sometimes created an obligation to break down some of the national population figures or to increase the apparent importance of the number of countries related to a given system. The drawbacks which could arise and prevent a correct interpretation of the different charts are diminished by the fact that clear reference to such territories, provinces or States is followed by the name of the State to which they are attached.

As for religious law systems, we have included only Muslim law because of its permanent, broadly-based nature. However we referred once to Jewish law to take into account the particularities of Israel's mixed legal system. Furthermore, some initially religious law systems have since lost their character and distinct status due to the fact that a number of their components have more or less been absorbed into customary or other legal systems.

Also, it must be pointed out that canon law is not a religious law system : it is a law inspired by religious dogma, but it is human in origin and belongs unquestionably to the Civil law family.

Customary law, which category also includes what is known as “Aboriginal laws” have not been highlighted in cases where, even though they may be used for certain means, they do not represent a key characteristic of the relevant political entity's legal system.

Upon reflection, we have ruled out the category of "Socialist law" whose inclusion, in the past, was unavoidable in certain classifications. True, despite recent political upheavals, Marxist-Leninist thought still plays a sometimes significant role in the legal organization of certain countries. But the criterion which governed the creation of a category of "Socialist law", as opposed to western law, was a material one, whereas on the whole we have given greater importance to the methodological and technical aspects of the legal systems, to legal concepts and to methods of developing and expressing law, without confining ourselves to superficially formal criteria.

Furthermore, you will note that the headings in the chapter entitled "Classification of Legal Systems and Corresponding Political Entities" refer to the legal systems in the plural rather than in the singular form (e.g. Civil law systems, Common law systems, Muslim law systems, Customary law systems and of course mixed law systems). Thus we wanted to account for the fact that each legal system (as a classification category) tends to acquire particular characteristics according to the territories and populations it serves. Need we be reminded that, despite their affiliation to the same legal family, there are significant differences between the positive laws of the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia, for example (Common law countries) and that the differences between the positive laws of France, Germany and Chile, for example (Civil law countries) are no less substantial!

In concluding it may be wise once again to emphasize the very modest objectives we have set ourselves with this information. Thus we have confined ourselves to categories which are easily identifiable for the international legal community. However, our attempts should not be construed as a rejection of classification efforts (e.g. those of Constantinesco, Zweigert and Koltz, Timsit and Glenn) which, though more scientific or more refined, would not have served our immediate purposes any better.

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts.
Last updated: 2009.12.15

English Español Русский 中文 عربي


Remarques introductives

Dans la réalisation de ce site sur les systèmes juridiques dans le monde, cinq catégories ont été retenues : droit civil, common law, droit coutumier, droit musulman, droit mixte, cette dernière catégorie ne renvoyant pas à un système, mais à une combinaison de systèmes. Cette catégorisation et la classification, évidemment imparfaite, des entités politiques qui en résulte appellent quelques remarques préliminaires.

L'expression « entités politiques » comprend les États membres des Nations Unies, ainsi que les rares territoires indépendants qui n’en font pas partie, mais aussi parfois des divisions politiques de ces États. Il a en effet paru utile d'identifier les systèmes d'un certain nombre de territoires non indépendants (qui peuvent au demeurant jouir, dans certains cas, d'une autonomie interne plus ou moins forte), soit que leur situation géographique ne rend pas évidents leurs liens avec le système juridique de pays éloignés (c'est le cas par exemple des territoires français du Pacifique, de l'Océan indien ou des Antilles), soit que faisant partie d'ensembles politiques de type fédéral ou autre, leur système a acquis ou conservé, à l'intérieur de ces ensembles, des caractéristiques distinctes (c'est le cas par exemple du Québec, entité de droit mixte, dont le droit commun dans d'importants domaines, spécialement mais non exclusivement de droit privé, relève essentiellement du droit civil codifié, tandis que le droit commun des autres provinces et territoires du Canada est essentiellement fondé sur la common law). On notera que la prise en considération séparée de ces territoires non indépendants a eu parfois pour conséquence d’obliger à ventiler certains chiffres de population nationale ou de grossir l’importance apparente du nombre de pays relevant de l’un ou l’autre des systèmes. Les inconvénients qui pourraient en résulter pour une bonne interprétation des différents tableaux sont diminués par le fait qu’il est clairement fait mention, après le nom de ces territoires, provinces ou États, de celui de l’État central auquel ils sont rattachés.

En ce qui concerne les droits religieux, nous n'avons retenu que le droit musulman, en raison de sa permanence et de sa grande extension. Le droit juif est cependant signalé une fois pour tenir compte des particularités du système de droit mixte israélien. D'autres systèmes de droit religieux à l'origine ont aujourd'hui perdu leur caractère et leur statut distinct en raison de la plus ou moins grande absorption d'un nombre plus ou moins grand de leurs éléments dans les systèmes coutumiers ou étatiques.

Il convient de noter en outre que le droit canonique n’est pas un droit religieux : il s’agit d’un droit qui, bien qu’informé par des dogmes religieux, est d’origine humaine et appartient sans conteste à la famille de droit civil.

Les droits coutumiers, dont la catégorie recouvre aussi celle des droits appelés autochtones, n’ont pas été signalés dans les cas où, même s’il peut en être parfois tenu compte à certaines fins, ils ne constituent pas une caractéristique systémique du droit de l’entité politique considérée.

À la réflexion, nous avons écarté la catégorie des droits socialistes, naguère incontournable dans certaines classifications. Il est vrai que le marxisme-léninisme, malgré des bouleversements politiques récents, exerce une influence parfois encore importante sur l'organisation juridique de quelques pays. Mais le critère qui avait présidé à la création de la catégorie des droits socialistes pour les opposer aux droits occidentaux, était un critère matériel, alors que, sans nous en tenir à un critère superficiellement formel, nous avons plutôt privilégié en gros les aspects méthodologiques et techniques des systèmes, les concepts juridiques et les modes d'élaboration et d'expression du droit.

On notera, par ailleurs, que dans le chapitre intitulé « Classification des systèmes juridiques et entités politiques correspondantes », les rubriques présentent les systèmes (de droit civil, de common law, de droit musulman, de droit coutumier et évidemment mixtes) au pluriel et non au singulier. Nous avons ainsi voulu tenir compte du fait que chaque système juridique (comme catégorie de classification) tend à acquérir des caractéristiques particulières selon les territoires et les populations auxquels il s'applique. Est-il à cet égard besoin de rappeler que malgré leur appartenance à une même famille juridique, il existe des différences, parfois substantielles, entre les droits positifs des États-Unis, du Royaume-Uni et de l'Australie par exemple (pays de tradition de common law) et qu'il n'en existe pas moins entre les droits positifs de la France, de l'Allemagne et du Chili par exemple (pays de tradition civiliste)?

Il ne paraît pas inutile, pour terminer, d'insister à nouveau sur les modestes objectifs d'information que nous avons poursuivis. C'est pourquoi nous nous en sommes tenus à des catégories aisément identifiables par la communauté juridique mondiale. On voudra bien ne pas voir pour autant, dans notre entreprise, un désaveu d'efforts plus scientifiques ou plus raffinés de classification (ceux de Constantinesco, de Zweigert et Kötz, de Timsit, de Glenn par exemple), mais qui n'auraient pas mieux répondu au but immédiat que nous nous sommes proposé.

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.
Dernières modifications : 2009.12.15