Français Español Русский 中文 عربي

Foreword of the 2nd edition (2008)

The first edition of this site was published on the web in 1999. The goal was then mainly to establish an inventory regarding the territorial and demographic distribution of the legal systems throughout the world at the end of the XXth century as well as to provide a reference tool for our students in the context of our double training program in civil law and common law (National Program).

Taking into account the growing popularity of the website, as well as the input received over the years, it appeared necessary to undertake a revised edition of the website. We also took this opportunity to add information, re-examine, increase and restructure the website.

Thus this second edition allowed us to review and reassess the composition of certain political entities' legal systems, particularly those of African and of the Middle Eastern countries, after reconsideration of their characteristics in light of further research. It is indeed unavoidable that a site of such wide scope needs to be reviewed from time to time, in spite of all the precautions taken to ensure its exactitude. This was made possible by having access to many recent documentary sources and with help of well informed contributors. In spite of the imperfections of the website, many of the testimonies received from visitors of our website convinced us of its utility. It goes without saying that the users' comments and suggestions which aim to improve the site are welcome.

The originality of this second edition lies in the addition of a section related to the respective economic weight of each legal system (GDP). It also resides in the choice of some significant examples, in highlighting the efforts made by the States, the international organizations and the international commercial community to develop a uniform international commercial law, in order to avoid trans-systemic issues of conflicts of laws and jurisdictions and to facilitate trans-border exchanges in the context of globalization. A last originality of this new edition finally consists, in this same context, in indicating the official languages of the political entities and to show their distribution in the contemporary world according to each legal system.

This second edition has been carried out by Mr. Jabeur Fathally (D.E.S.D. Tunis; LL.L., LL.M., Ph.D. Ottawa), Assistant Professor at the University of Ottawa and by Mr. Nicola Mariani (LL.L/LL.B. Ottawa), International Lawyer, under the direction of Emeritus Professor Louis Perret, former Dean of the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa (Civil law section) and of Emeritus Professor Alain-François Bisson, of the same Faculty. Statistical research, maps and graphs were carried out by Ms. Ghislaine Pelletier (B.Arch. Montreal). The graphs and the maps were actualized by Ms. Annie N’Tula Mankeni. Ms. Sandrine Bidegorry did the statistics proof-readings. The bibliography was edited by Ms. Diana-Lynn Swan. The Arabic, English, Spanish, Chinese and Russian versions are translations of the French original Website. The first three translations are the result of a combined effort of various members of the JuriGlobe team. Those in Chinese and Russian are respectively due to Mr. Xiaodong Liang ( LL.B.Chendung; LL.M. Laval ) and Ms. Natalia Shpilkovskaya ( LL.B. Moscow; LL.M. Ottawa ). The transposition of the files on the web has been achieved by the Webmasters of the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa, Mr. Maxime Brasseur and Mr. Eric Proulx.

This second edition could not have been carried out without the encouragements and support of Ms. Nathalie DesRosiers, Dean of the Faculty of Law (Section of Civil law), the financial assistance of the University of Ottawa, of the Law Foundation of Ontario and without the generous contribution of Ms Fatma El-Mehelmy, to whom we are very thankful.

This 2nd edition is also available in a book format (bilingual:French/ English with a CD-ROM included) under the title ''Les systèmes juridiques dans le monde/ World Legal Systems'',Wislon & Lafleur Ed.,Montreal, 2008 (http://www.wilsonlafleur.com/WilsonLafleur/default.aspx).

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts.
Last updated: 2013.07.31

English Español Русский 中文 عربي


Avant-propos de la 2e édition (2008)

La première édition de ce site a été diffusée sur la toile en 1999. Son objectif était alors principalement d’établir un état des lieux concernant la répartition territoriale et démographique des systèmes juridiques dans le monde à la fin du XXe siècle, ainsi que de fournir un outil de référence efficace à nos étudiants dans le cadre de notre programme de double formation juridique en droit civil et en common law (programme national ).

Compte tenu du grand nombre de visites dont ce site a été l’objet, ainsi que des suggestions et commentaires reçus, il nous est apparu opportun d’entreprendre une nouvelle édition, revue, augmentée et restructurée.

Ainsi cette deuxième édition a été l’occasion de modifier la composition des systèmes juridiques de certaines entités politiques, notamment d’Afrique et d’Orient, après reconsidération de leurs caractéristiques à la lumière de nouveaux éléments d’information. Il est en effet inévitable qu’un site d’une telle ampleur appelle de temps à autre des corrections, en dépit de toutes les précautions prises pour en assurer l’exactitude grâce à la consultation de sources documentaires nombreuses et de personnes renseignées. Malgré ses imperfections, les nombreux témoignages reçus des visiteurs de ce site nous ont cependant convaincus de son utilité. Il va de soi au demeurant que les commentaires, suggestions et critiques des utilisateurs en vue de son amélioration demeurent toujours les bienvenus.

L’originalité de cette deuxième édition réside par ailleurs d’abord dans l’ajout d’un volet portant sur le poids économique respectif de chacun des systèmes juridiques (PIB). Elle réside également dans la mise en relief, par le choix de quelques exemples significatifs, des efforts déployés par les États, les organisations internationales et la communauté marchande internationale pour élaborer un droit commercial international uniforme, en vue d’éviter les problèmes de conflits trans-systémiques de lois et de juridictions, afin de faciliter les échanges transfrontaliers dans le contexte de la mondialisation. Une dernière originalité de cette nouvelle édition consiste enfin, dans ce même contexte, à indiquer les langues officielles des entités politiques et à en montrer la répartition dans le monde contemporain selon chaque système juridique.

Cette deuxième édition a été réalisée par M. Jabeur Fathally (D.E.S.D. Tunis, LL.L, LL.M., Ph.D. Ottawa), professeur adjoint à l'Université d'Ottawa et par M. Nicola Mariani (LL.L/LL.B. Ottawa), avocat international, sous la direction du professeur émérite Louis Perret, ancien doyen de la Faculté de droit d’Ottawa (section de droit civil) et du professeur émérite Alain-François Bisson, de cette même Faculté. Les recherches statistiques, les cartes et les graphiques ont été réalisés par Mme Ghislaine Pelletier (B.Arch. Montréal). Les graphiques et les cartes ont été actualisés par Mme Annie N’Tula Mankeni. Mme Sandrine Bidegorry a révisé les statistiques. La mise au point des bibliographies a été effectuée par Mme Diana-Lynn Swan. Les traductions en anglais, en espagnol et en arabe sont l’œuvre des divers membres de l’équipe de JuriGlobe. Celles en chinois et en russe sont dues respectivement à M. Xiaodong Liang ( LL.B. Chendung; LL.M. Laval ) et à Mme Natalia Shpilkovskaya (LL.B. Moscou; LL.M. Ottawa). La transposition des fichiers sur la toile a été accomplie par les webmestres de la Faculté de droit, MM. Maxime Brasseur et Eric Proulx.

Cette deuxième édition n’aurait pu être réalisée sans les encouragements et l’appui de Mme Nathalie DesRosiers, doyenne de la Faculté de Droit (Section de Droit civil), l’aide financière de l’Université d’Ottawa et de la Fondation du droit de l'Ontario et sans la généreuse contribution de Mme Fatma El-Mehelmy, que nous remercions vivement.

N.B.Cette 2 è édition est également disponible en version livre bilingue, français/anglais accompagné d'un cédérom publié chez la maison d'édition Wilson & Lafleur sous le titre ''Les systèmes juridiques dans le monde/ World Legal Systems'',Montréal, 2008(http://www.wilsonlafleur.com/WilsonLafleur/default.aspx).

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.
Dernières modifications : 2013.07.31