Français Español Русский 中文 عربي

Foreword of the 1st edition (1999)

The initial idea to create this Website on "World Legal Systems" stems from a particular interest: the fact that both Civil law and Common law are taught at the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa. The Faculty, through its National Program, further offers its students the possibility of taking a degree in both legal systems within a four-year time period, thereby improving their employment prospects. Thus it seemed desirable to afford them, through this Website, a true perspective of the importance of each of these two legal systems on an international level.

However, in setting up this Website, we were also guided by an interest of a more general nature. Indeed, after 50 years of world trade liberalization brought about through GATT and the WTO, tariff reductions - from 50% to 3% in industrialized countries - have been instrumental in achieving a thirteen-fold increase in the volume of trade worldwide. In Canada, for example, 43% of economic activity today is directly related to exports, compared to only 18% twenty years ago. One job in three now depends on exports and it is estimated that, for each billion dollars in new exports, 6,000 to 8,000 jobs are created in this country.

In the light of this new context, we thought it would be helpful to provide the legal community and business people with a modern tool that would give them an idea of the legal system in force in the various countries in which they might be conducting business and entering into international commercial agreements.

Certainly the creation of such a tool posed quite a challenge, such as determining the criteria for classifying the different legal systems when faced with a large number of mixed legal systems, or ascertaining the status of the law in countries undergoing a complete transformation, particularly in Eastern Europe, Asia or Africa. However, it is becoming increasingly difficult to function without such a guide in the context of globalization. Thus, fully aware of the pitfalls and hence in all modesty, we nevertheless decided to take up the challenge. We hope the results, imperfect though they may be, have achieved the intended purpose. Since we expect to improve this instrument over time, we have included a "Discussion Forum" page on our Website in order to receive comments, criticism and suggestions from the academic world and users at large.

This Website was created at the Law Faculty of the University of Ottawa by Mr. Nicola Mariani (LL.L./LL.B. Ottawa) and Ms. Graciela Fuentes (LL.M. McGill, LL.D. Ottawa) under the guidance of Professor Alain-F. Bisson and Dean Louis Perret. We would like to express our gratitude for their assistance and dedication to Ms. Nathalie Lalonde of the Supreme Court of Canada Library, Ms. Marie-Claude Lavigne, computer consultant, Ms. Sylvie Leblanc and Mr. Serge Brousseau for their technical support, and Ms. Diana-Lynn Swan of the University of Ottawa Law Library, not to forget our translators Mr. Ken Larose and Ms. Gail Larose, whose patience and thoroughness we hereby acknowledge.

We would also like to express our particular thanks to Mr. Hacen Ould Lebatt, former dean of the Law Faculty of the University of Nouakchott and former rector of the same university, whose assistance has proved invaluable with respect to the classification of African and Middle Eastern legal systems, and Ms. Josée Tremblay for information provided with respect to certain South-East Asian countries. However, needless to say, we are solely responsible for any error of interpretation of the information provided to us by them.
© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts.
Last updated: 2009.12.15

English Español Русский 中文 عربي


Avant-propos de la 1re édition (1999)

L'idée première de construire ce site sur les systèmes juridiques dans le monde est venue d'un intérêt particulier. En effet, le droit civil et la common law sont enseignés à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa. De plus, grâce à un programme national, la Faculté offre à ses étudiants la possibilité d'obtenir, en quatre années, la double formation juridique dans les deux systèmes, ce qui est susceptible de leur ouvrir des débouchés accrus. Il a donc paru utile de leur fournir, au moyen de ce site, une juste perspective de l'importance respective de ces deux systèmes dans le monde.

Mais un intérêt plus général nous a conduit aussi à l'établissement de ce site. En effet, après 50 ans de libéralisation du commerce international sous l'effet du GATT et de l'O.M.C., la baisse des tarifs douaniers, de 50% à 3% dans les pays industrialisés, a contribué à multiplier par treize le volume des échanges commerciaux à l'échelle mondiale. Au Canada, par exemple, 43% des activités économiques sont maintenant directement reliées aux exportations, comparativement à seulement 18% il y a vingt ans. Un emploi sur trois dépend aujourd'hui des exportations et l'on estime que chaque milliard de dollars d'exportations nouvelles crée de 6 000 à 8 000 emplois au pays.

Dans ce contexte nouveau, il nous a donc paru utile de fournir aux juristes et gens d'affaires un instrument moderne leur permettant d'avoir une première indication du système juridique en vigueur dans les divers pays où ils sont susceptibles de mener leurs entreprises et de conclure des contrats commerciaux internationaux.

Certes, la création d'un tel outil posait de grands défis, tels que la détermination des critères de classification des différents systèmes juridiques face à la présence d'un grand nombre de systèmes mixtes, ou encore quant à la connaissance exacte de l'état du droit dans des pays en pleine mutation, notamment en Europe de l'Est, en Asie, ou en Afrique. Il est cependant devenu difficile de se passer d'un tel outil dans le contexte de la mondialisation. C'est pourquoi nous avons quand même décidé, en pleine conscience des difficultés et par conséquent en toute modestie, de relever ces défis. Nous espérons que les résultats, aussi imparfaits soient-ils, puissent répondre aux objectifs visés. Avec le temps, nous souhaitons par ailleurs améliorer cet instrument. En conséquence, nous avons inclus une page " Forum de discussion " sur notre site web en vue de recevoir les commentaires, critiques et suggestions du milieu universitaire et des usagers en général.

Ce site a été réalisé à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa par Me Nicola Mariani (LL.L. / LL.B. Ottawa) et Madame Graciela Fuentes (LL.M. McGill, LL.D. Ottawa), sous la supervision du professeur Alain-F. Bisson et du doyen Louis Perret. Nous adressons également nos remerciements pour leur aide et dévouement à Mme Nathalie Lalonde de la Bibliothèque de la Cour suprême du Canada, à Mme Marie-Claude Lavigne, consultante en informatique, à Mme Sylvie LeBlanc et M. Serge Brousseau pour leur support technique et à Mme Diana-Lynn Swan de la bibliothèque de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa, sans oublier nos traducteurs M. Ken Larose et Mme Gail Larose pour leur patience et leur rigueur.

Enfin des remerciements tout particuliers vont à M. Hacen Ould Lebatt, ancien doyen de la Faculté de droit de l'Université de Nouaktchott et ancien recteur de cette université, dont l'aide a été précieuse pour la classification des systèmes d'Afrique et du Moyen-Orient, ainsi qu'à Mme Josée Tremblay, pour les renseignements concernant certains pays d'Asie du Sud-Est. Il va de soi cependant que nous demeurons éventuellement responsables de toute erreur d'interprétation des indications qu'ils nous ont fournies.

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.
Dernières modifications : 2009.12.15