Français Español Русский 中文 عربي

INTRODUCTORY REMARKS

In this website, "languages" means the official languages of the different political entities. However, "the definition of what an official language stands for is not perfectly clear" (Michel Malherbe).

Some languages are "official" de jure, in such a sense that they are the subject of an express, constitutional or legislative recognition, under an appellation which may vary (generally referred to as "official language", but also sometimes referred to as "national language", "language of the State", "language of the Republic", etc.) or of a recognition which results from unambiguous texts imposing or allowing their use for various institutional means. It is important to note that the official nature of these languages does not prevent them from being sometimes known, without any pejorative connotation, as languages with restricted status, either that their recognition is limited to some parts of the territory or that it is limited to certain spheres of activities (usually, education, protection of a culture or for the use of official communications between an administration and its citizens), or finally that, in fact, it is of a rather symbolic nature in spite of its apparently great scope.

It is sometime said that some languages are official de facto, in the sense that their status, which is not recognized in specific texts, results from their constant and sometimes secular use in all the major fields of the official activity of a state (a notable example is the use of English in the United States of America, as well at the federal level as in an important minority of the federate States). But there also exists de facto co-official languages that have a more or less restricted status.

Based on the qualifications set out above, and since this website attempts to draw up the list of the official languages significantly related to the global legal system of each political entity, we have only retained as official languages (about a hundred) those which we believe are really substantially and generally used in both the legislation and administration of the justice. We have thus discarded official languages with materially or territorially restricted status. However, the existence, in a political entity, of one or, sometimes, several official languages with restricted status is announced by a plus ( + ) sign.

In developing this website, the authors have, in a significant number of cases, based themselves on their personal knowledge of the political entities considered, but they also had to rely, in an even more significant number of cases, on the analysis, the interpretation and the review of various sources. The appreciation is thus being made remotely and upon interposed documentations and studies. As reliable as these may be, of the real practices regarding languages of legal institutions, there are always doubts that may arise. This is why we will welcome any observation allowing us to ensure the exactitude of the information provided in this website.

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts.
Last updated: 2009.12.15

English Español Русский 中文 عربي


Remarques introductives

Par « langues », on entend dans ce site seulement les langues officielles. Cependant, « la définition de ce qu’est une langue officielle n’est pas d’une parfaite netteté » (Michel Malherbe).

Certaines langues officielles le sont de jure, en ce sens qu’elles font l’objet d’une reconnaissance expresse, constitutionnelle ou législative, sous des appellations qui peuvent d’ailleurs varier (le plus souvent « langue officielle », mais aussi quelquefois « langue nationale », « langue d’État », « langue de la République », etc.) ou d’une reconnaissance qui se déduit sans équivoque de textes imposant ou permettant leur utilisation à diverses fins institutionnelles. Il convient de remarquer que le caractère officiel de ces langues n’empêche pas qu’elles puissent être parfois ce qu’on peut appeler, sans connotation péjorative, des langues à statut restreint, soit que leur reconnaissance se limite à certaines parties du territoire, soit qu’elle se limite à certains domaines d’activité (fréquemment, éducation, protection culturelle ou communications de l’administration avec les citoyens), soit enfin que, dans les faits, elle soit de nature plutôt symbolique malgré son apparente grande étendue.

Certaines langues officielles le sont, dit-on parfois, de facto, en ce sens que leur statut, non reconnu dans des textes spécifiques, résulte alors de leur emploi constant, parfois séculaire, dans tous les domaines majeurs de l’activité étatique (un exemple notable est celui de l’anglais aux États-Unis d’Amérique, tant au niveau fédéral que dans une minorité importante des États fédérés). Mais il existe aussi des langues coofficielles de facto à statut plus ou moins restreint.

Sous le bénéfice de ces qualifications, comme il s’agit, dans ce site, de dresser la liste des langues officielles en rapport significatif avec le système juridique global de chaque entité politique, nous n’avons retenu comme langues officielles (une centaine au total) que celles dont il est fait un emploi réellement substantiel et généralisé dans la législation et l’administration de la justice et nous avons écarté les langues officielles à statut matériellement ou territorialement restreint. L’existence, dans une entité politique, d’une ou, quelquefois, de plusieurs langues officielles à statut restreint est cependant signalé par un signe plus (+).

Dans l’établissement de ce site, les auteurs ont pu se fonder, dans un nombre important de cas, sur leur connaissance personnelle des entités politiques considérées, mais ils ont dû faire appel, dans un nombre encore plus important de cas, à l’analyse, à l’interprétation et au recoupement de sources diverses. L’appréciation à distance et par documentations et études interposées, si soignées que soient celles-ci, des pratiques réelles en matière de langue des institutions juridiques laisse place à des doutes, peut-être à des erreurs. C’est pourquoi nous accueillerons avec reconnaissance toute observation nous permettant d’assurer la meilleure exactitude des informations fournies.

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.
Dernières modifications : 2009.12.15